CONTACT | Print Page | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Advocacy

Re-Open Florida Task Force Executive Committee Members Announced & Inaugural Meeting Held

Monday, April 20, 2020   (0 Comments)
Share |

Re-Open Florida Task Force Executive Committee Members Announced & Inaugural Meeting Held

Monday, April 20, 2020

Prepared by Metz, Husband & Daughton, PA


Florida Governor Ron DeSantis announced the 22 members who will serve as the Executive Committee of the newly-created “Re-Open Florida Task Force.”The Governor gave introductory remarks at the first official teleconference meeting of the executive committee. The meeting’s agenda also included an overview of Florida’s economy given by Florida Chamber President & CEO Mark Wilson and Chamber Foundation Chief Economist Jerry Parrish followed by COVID-19 updates on Florida’s response efforts, health information and case data, and healthcare provider capacity, given by Division of Emergency Management Director Jared Moskowitz, Surgeon General Scott Rivkees, and Agency for Healthcare Administration Secretary Mary Mayhew. Shane Strum, the Governor’s Chief of Staff, then introduced the various working groups within the task force and outlined the proposed timeline for upcoming meetings.


The task force is on an expedited track and already announced two meetings via conference call on April 21 at 10:00am and 2:00pm. The Governor requested that the task force’s recommendations on Florida’s short term response be submitted to his office by Friday, April 24. This short term report on the “rebound and resurgence” of Florida is the first of a three-pronged strategy for short, medium and long term recommendations – similar to the plan laid out last week by President Trump and the members of the Coronavirus Task Force.


The Re-Open Florida Task Force will provide recommendations on the re-opening of Florida’s economy, including restaurants, schools, tourism, agriculture and many other businesses, all within the context of appropriate timeframes. The members of the full task force represent elected officials, business and industry leaders, local government representatives, and small business owners. We anticipate that the Governor will be releasing a full list of the task force’s membership soon and will provide a complete list when it becomes available. The teleconference was with only the members of the Task Force’s Executive Committee, including:

· Florida’s Lieutenant Governor Jeanette Nuñez

· Jimmy Patronis, Florida Chief Financial Officer

· Ashley Moody, Florida Attorney General

· President Bill Galvano, President, Florida Senate

· Speaker Jose Oliva, Speaker, Florida House of Representatives

· Senator Wilton Simpson, President-Designate, Florida Senate

· Representative Chris Sprowls, Speaker-Designate, Florida House of Representatives

· Commissioner Richard Corcoran, Commissioner of Education

· Jamal Sowell, President & CEO, Enterprise Florida, Inc.

· Mayor Carlos Gimenez, Mayor, Miami-Dade County

· Mayor Dale Holness, Mayor, Broward County

· Mayor David Kerner, Mayor, Palm Beach County

· John Couris, President & CEO, Tampa General Hospital

· Josh D’Amaro, President, Walt Disney World Resort

· Todd Jones, CEO, Publix Super Markets

· Syd Kitson, Chairman, Board of Governors for the State University System

· Paul Reilly, Chairman & CEO, Raymond James Financial

· Alex Sanchez, President & CEO, Florida Bankers Association

· Eric Silagy, President & CEO, Florida Power & Light Company

· John Sprouls, CEO, Universal Orlando Resort, Executive Vice President, Universal Parks & Resorts

· Patrick Sunderlin, Vice President, Global Supply Chain, Lockheed Martin Corporation

· Joe York, President, AT&T Florida and Caribbean

About BioFlorida

BioFlorida is the voice of Florida's life sciences industry, representing 6,700 establishments and research organizations in the BioPharma, MedTech, HealthIT & BioAg that collectively employ nearly 94,000 Floridians.