Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: Industry Events

Biotech entrepreneurs win top awards at annual conference

Wednesday, October 14, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |

Biotech entrepreneurs win top awards at annual conference



Two South Florida biotech entrepreneurs won top awards this week at the annual BioFlorida conference in Orlando.

Claudia Zylberberg, founder of Akron Biotech in Boca Raton, won the 2015 David J. Gury Company of the Year. Matthew Kim of Vigilant Biosciences in Fort Lauderdale won The Weaver H. Gaines Entrepreneur of the Year Award.

Akron Biotech produces cell cultures and other raw materials for government and pharmaceutical company research. Earlier this year, the company moved to a 10,000-square-foot laboratory and manufacturing space in Boca Raton.

Vigilant Biosciences develops products that aid in the early detection and intervention of cancer.

Also at the event, the 2015 BioFlorida Leadership Award was given to Thad Seymour Jr. of the Lake Nona Institute, and this year's Lifetime Achievement Award recipient was Patti Breedlove of UF Sid Martin Biotechnology Incubator.

BioFlorida is the industry association for Florida's life sciences, representing nearly 5,500 businesses and research organizations in the biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, medical devices and bioagriculture sectors that employ nearly 80,000 Floridians. or 561-243-6650


BioFlorida, Inc. | 901 NW 35th Street | Boca Raton, FL 33431
(P) 561-653-3839 (F) 561-653-3840
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal